SHEEO Names Executive Committee for 2016-2017 Fiscal Year

Friday, July 29, 2016

Date:                   July 29, 2016
Contact:              George Pernsteiner, President, State Higher Education Executive Officers Association (303) 541-1600


The State Higher Education Executive Officers Association (SHEEO) has elected its officers for 2016-2017. Robert Donley, Executive Director for the Iowa Board of Regents, was elected to be chair of the organization’s executive committee effective October 1, 2016. Other new officers include Eileen Klein (the chair elect for 2017-2018) and Glen Johnson (treasurer). Ms. Klein is President of the Arizona Board of Regents and Dr. Johnson is Chancellor of the Oklahoma State System of Higher Education.

Peter Blake, Director of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, who has served as the chair of the executive committee this year, will continue as an officer in the role of immediate past chair. Bob King, President of the Kentucky Council of Postsecondary Education, will step down as immediate past chair at the end of September.

“I am excited that Bob Donley will be leading SHEEO next year,” said George Pernsteiner, SHEEO’s president. “Dr. Donley is among the most thoughtful leaders of American higher education and always knows what matters most to help students succeed. Eileen Klein and Glen Johnson are visionary leaders in their states who will bring to SHEEO and the nation their unparalleled understanding of how to use information to advance student success and meet state education and workforce needs.”

“I cannot say enough,” continued Pernsteiner, “about the leadership that Peter Blake and Bob King have brought to our association. Bob’s caring, engagement, and commitment to doing what is right for students and for states have helped energize me and all of SHEEO during the several years he has been an officer. We will miss him and his counsel on our executive committee. Peter’s leadership as chair has been both steady and visionary, a rare combination, and has propelled SHEEO this year and will continue to help guide us in the future.”

SHEEO’s 61 members elect an executive committee to govern the association. In addition to the officers, other members of the executive committee include Timothy J. White, Chancellor of the California State University; Henry Huckaby, Chancellor of the University System of Georgia; Teresa Lubbers, Commissioner of the Indiana Commission of Higher Education; Carlos Santiago, Commissioner of the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education; Barbara Damron, Cabinet Secretary of the Higher Education Department for New Mexico; Margaret Spellings, President of the University of North Carolina; and Michael Rush, Executive Director and CEO for the South Dakota Board of Regents.

SHEEO’s members oversee higher education on behalf of states and territories:  managing state systems of higher education, coordinating the efforts of public and private colleges and universities, administering student financial aid programs, authorizing institutions to offer educational programs, handling student complaints, allocating state funds to colleges and universities, and developing plans to meet state education and workforce needs.

For further information, please contact SHEEO at 303-541-1600 or at