

3035 Center Green Drive • Suite 100 Boulder, Colorado 80301-2205 303.541.1600 • FAX 303.541.1639 sheeo@sheeo.org

STATE HIGHER EDUCATION EXECUTIVE OFFICERS ASSOCIATION

www.sheeo.org

SHEEO EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2020

The State Higher Education Officers Association (SHEEO) announces the third annual SHEEO Excellence Awards, which recognize the leadership, dedication, and innovation of exceptional SHEEOs, agency staff, and agencies.

The Excellence Awards are:

Exceptional Leader Award – Presented to a current state higher education executive officer from a member agency who has shown exceptional leadership, a commitment to higher education, a contribution to the greater good, and service to the SHEEO Association within the last year.

Exceptional Agency Award – Presented to a member agency whose innovative actions, policies, or practices advanced student success in their state; which displayed exceptional governance practices; which overcame exceptional challenges; or displayed other meritorious attributes within the last year.

The David L. Wright Memorial Award – This award is named in honor of the late David Wright, an esteemed colleague and leader in state higher education, who served in the Tennessee Higher Education Commission, the State Higher Education Executive Officers Association, and the Florida Governing Board. This award recognizes a current SHEEO agency staff member, from a member agency, who embodies the exceptional commitment, work ethic, and ethical practices of David Wright, and who has made outstanding contributions to their agency.

- For the Exceptional Leader and Exceptional Agency awards, award decisions will be made by a committee of SHEEOs, SHEEO staff, and the SHEEO president. The Exceptional Leader Award will be presented at the SHEEO Annual Meeting and the Exceptional Agency Award will be presented at the SHEEO Higher Education Policy Conference.
- For the David L. Wright Memorial Award, SHEEO is seeking nominations, and a committee of agency and SHEEO staff will review nominations and make award decisions. The David L. Wright Memorial Award will be presented at the SHEEO Higher Education Policy Conference.

The SHEEO 2020 David L. Wright Memorial Award nomination form can be found at: <u>http://bit.ly/sheeoawards20</u>.

TIMELINE

• March 4, 2020	Call for nominations
• April 17, 2020	Nominations due for the David L. Wright Award
• May 2020	Selection committee meets and selects winners
• June 5, 2020	Recipients notified