SHEEO Awards

Exceptional Leader Award – Presented to a current state higher education executive officer from a member agency who has shown exceptional leadership, a commitment to higher education, a contribution to the greater good, and service to the SHEEO Association within the last year.

Exceptional Agency Award – Presented to a member agency whose innovative actions, policies, or practices advanced student success in their state; which displayed exceptional governance practices; which overcame exceptional challenges; or displayed other meritorious attributes within the last year.

The David L. Wright Memorial Award – This award is named in honor of the late David Wright, an esteemed colleague and leader in state higher education, who served in the Tennessee Higher Education Commission, the State Higher Education Executive Officers Association, and the Florida Governing Board. This award recognizes a current SHEEO agency staff member, from a member agency, who embodies the exceptional commitment, work ethic, and ethical practices of David Wright, and who has made outstanding contributions to their agency.

Past Recipients

Exceptional Leader Award

2019 – Glen Johnson, Oklahoma State System of Higher Education

2018 – Teresa Lubbers, Indiana Commission for Higher Education

Exceptional Agency Award

2019 – University System of Georgia

2018 – Idaho State Board of Education

David L. Wright Memorial Award

2019 – Paula Compton, Ohio Department of Higher Education

2018 – Andrew Rauch, Colorado Department of Higher Education